Committees and Administrative Assignments, 2024-25

Note: This is a list of committee and administrative assignments in the UNL Department of Mathematics for 2022-23. This list does not include any service that faculty do on College, University or national committees, and it does not include any other professional service activities.

ChairP. RaduVice ChairA. Donsig (Fall 2024); J. Brummer (Spring 2025)Graduate ChairY. LaiUndergraduate ChairA. Zupan

1 Department and Faculty

- **Executive Committee:** P. Radu (Chair), Y. Jin, C. Schaffhauser, A. Seceleanu, J. Walker. *Responsibilities:* Serve as the primary advisory committee to the Chair on all aspects of the Department's
 - *Responsibilities:* Serve as the primary advisory committee to the Chair on all aspects of the Department's business. The Executive Committee conducts annual evaluations of faculty, provides the Chair with advice about faculty salaries, workload policies, faculty hiring, strategic planning, budgetary matters, committee assignments, and other duties as assigned to it by the Chair.
- Award Nominations Committee: B. Harbourne (Co-Chair), M. Walker (Co-Chair), G. Avalos, T. Marley, J. Walker. *Responsibilities:* Make nominations for university professorships, research awards (college, university, and national), and for new fellows in professional societies.
- Equity, and Inclusion Committee: K. Gonzalez (Chair), G. Avalos, C. Kelley, M. Walker. Graduate students: TBD.

Responsibilities: Make recommendations at the department level for strategies for hiring diverse faculty, recruiting and mentoring minority graduate students, attracting minority undergraduates to mathematics, and new outreach efforts to Lincoln's minority communities.

- Search Committee for Professor of Practice: B. Harbourne (Chair), A. Donsig, K. Gonzales, M. Homp, T. Marley, M. Burks (School of Biological Sciences). Graduate student: A. Goodnight.
- Alumni Relations Coordinators: P. Radu (Chair), T. Marley.

Responsibilities: Strengthen relations with our alumni, produce a department newsletter, work with the NU Foundation on fundraising efforts.

Computer Systems Coordinator: M. Brittenham.

Responsibilities: Oversee(s) the work of our computer support staff, serve as a resource and advise the department on all aspects of use of technology in the classroom and in research, advise the department on issues related to our website, advise the Chair on technology resource needs.

Library Liason: M. Brittenham.

Faculty Senate Representatives: G. Avalos, X. Pérez-Giménez.

2 Graduate Program

Graduate Advisory Committee: Y. Lai (Chair), E. Grifo, S. Hermiller, Y. Jin, A. Larios, J. Radcliffe, C. Schafhauser, Graduate student member: TBD.

Graduate Admissions Coordinator: J. Radcliffe

Graduate Advisor for Internships and Non-academic Jobs: S. Hermiller

Graduate Exams Coordinator: A. Larios

Graduate Recruiting Visits and Outreach Coordinator: E. Grifo

GSA Representative: TBD.

Responsibilities: Advise the Department about all aspects of the graduate program. In particular, administer the graduate program, administer the graduate exams, recruit graduate students, advise about policy issues concerning the graduate program, advise about curricular issues affecting the graduate program, serve as grading appeals committee for all grade appeals in graduate courses, provide recommendations for graduate student awards and scholarships, provide advice on preparing graduate students for the profession.

MAT Committee: W. Smith (Chair), A. Bennett, M. Brittenham, B. Deng, A. Donsig, M. Homp (MAT Exam & Committee Coordinator), T. Marley. Responsibilities: Administer the MAT portion of the graduate program, providing advice to the GAC about this program as appropriate. Arrange for instructors of record for MAT courses taught by members of the graduate faculty.

Job Search Workshop Coordinators: D. Pitts, M. Walker.

3 Undergraduate Program and Activities

Undergraduate Program Committee: A. Zupan (Chair), H. Du, M. Foss, J. Jeffries, S. Li., X. Pérez-Giménez.

Major Recruiting Coordinator: TBD. Major Faculty Advisor: TBD. Scholarship and Experiential Learning Chair: TBD. ACE Chair: TBD.

Responsibilities: Advise the Department about all aspects of the undergraduate program. In particular, administer the undergraduate program, advise about undergraduate curriculum and major/minor requirements (including ACE requirements), serve as grading appeals committee for all grade appeals in undergraduate courses, recruit undergraduate majors, provide recommendations about undergraduate awards and scholar-ships, promote undergraduate research, provide career advice for undergraduates.

- **Undergraduate Activities Committee:** T. Lai (Chair), R. Aranda, Z. Norwood, A. Seceleanu, K. Yamazaki. *Responsibilities:* Serve as faculty advisors to the Math Club, Pi Mu Epsilon, the Women's Undergraduate Math Network, and the AWM Student Chapter. Facilitate a sense of community and promote mathematical activities for undergraduate math majors.
- First-Year Mathematics Task Force: K. Gonzales (Chair), K. Amman, M. Bills, M. Brittenham, J. Brummer (Spring), B. Deng, B. Harbourne. Graduate students: TBD. *Responsibilities:* Monitor the implementation and the results of the redesign of Math 100A, Math 101, Math 102 and 103, oversee the research project associated to this project, and advise the department on extending the redesign project to other 100-level courses. Create strategies to help reduce equity achievement gaps in our 100 level course.
- Second-Year Mathematics Task Force: A. Donsig (Chair), G. Avalos, B. Deng, S. Hermiller, T. Lai, A. Larios, Z. Norwood, D. Pitts. GTAs: TBD.

Responsibilities: Review and standardize the syllabi for Math 208, 221, and 314. Find ways to improve large lecture instruction.

Transfer Credit Evaluator: J. Jeffries and A. Zupan.

Learning Assistant Coordinator: K. Gonzales.

MRC Coordinator : K. Gonzales.

WebWork System Administrators: J. Brummer, GTA: M. Piwowarczyk.

Putnam Exam Coordinators: T. Lai, X. Pérez-Giménez, Graduate student: T. Lee.

AMS Student Chapter Faculty Advisor: R. Aranda.

AWM Faculty Advisor: TBD

4 Events

- Math Day Committee: L. Heath (Chair), M. Brittenham, M. Foss, I. Ishan, X. Pérez-Giménez, J. Radcliffe. Graduate students: TBD.
- Nebraska Conference for Undergraduate Women in Mathematics Committee: H. Du (co-Chair), A. Zupan (co-Chair), K. Amman, I. Ishan, C. Schafhauser. Graduate students: TBD.

AGAM Committee: Y. Jin (Chair), . Graduate students: TBA.

Colloquium Chair: J. Jeffries.