The Re-Dedication of Avery Hall

The Re-Dedication of the newly renovated Avery Hall was conducted on September 30, 2004 in 115 Avery Hall at 3:00 p.m. Speakers at this dedication included Chancellor Harvey Perlman, Mathematics Chair John Meakin, Computer Science and Engineering Chair Rich Sincovec, University Libraries Dean Joan Giesecke, and Nebraska Senator Roger Wehrbein. An open house followed the ribbon cutting ceremony at 3:30 p.m. Avery is now the home of the Mathematics Department, Computer Science and Engineering Department, the Center for Science, Mathematics and Computer Education, and a branch of the Statistics Department. The remodeled structure contains classrooms and faculty and graduate student offices and includes wireless computer networking, gathering spaces, and multimedia configurations.

Invitation to the Ceremony, 2004

Invited guests who entered 115 Avery Hall were welcomed with a Dedication movie () produced by Lori Mueller (Mathematics) and Jodi Holt (Computer Science), representatives from each department. The movie is an illustration of then, now, and what we have to look forward to in the future. This was an opportunity to introduce each department housed in Avery and their current, respective Chairs and Directors.

Avery Re-Dedication Program

Avery Re-Dedication Remarks by John Meakin, Department Chair.