Schedule a colloquiumMath Club

COVID-19 Mitigation Plan


  • Congratulations to Eloísa Grifo, Brian Harbourne, Jack Jeffries, Tom Marley, Alexandra Seceleanu, and Mark Walker who earned Research Training Groups (RTG) funding from the National Science Foundation!
  • JimFest, a conference in honor of W. James Lewis, will be held Thursday, May 30-June 1. For more information, visit the conference website
  • The 44th Annual Great Plains Operator Theory Symposium (GPOTS 2024) will be hosted by the Department of Mathematics from June 3-7, 2024. 
  • Faculty member Kevin Gonzales was awarded the College Distinguished Teaching Award given by the office of the Executive Vice Chancellor
  • At the most recent MAA South Dakota-NE Sectional meeting, Yvonne Lai, was conferred the Section's Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics. Congratulations, Yvonne! 
  • Dakota White, graduate teaching assistant, has been selected by the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Graduate Awards Committee for the 2023-2024 Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Award. 
  • Wendy Smith, Director of the Center for Science, Mathematics, and Computer Science, was awarded the 2024 Character and Commitment Award by the University of Nebraska-Lincoln's Gender and Sexuality Center. 
  • Yvonne Lai gave an evening plenary at the 2024 Annual Conference in Undergraduate Mathematics Education
  • Alexandra Seceleanu has been awarded the Ruth L. Micheler Memorial Prize through the Association for Women in Mathematics and Cornell University.
  • Yvonne Lai gave an MAA Lecture on Teaching and Learning in January 2024, which was an invited address to the JMM. 
  • Former graduate student Jennifer Mueller (Ph.D. 1997, advised by Prof. Tom Shores) has been named Albert C. Yates Endowed Chair of Mathematics at Colorado State University.
  • Read the 2023 edition of Math News
  • Christine Kelley was named a fellow of the Association for Women in Mathematics for her efforts to encourage young women to pursue mathematics.
  • Christine Kelley joins the Mathematical Association of America (MAA) as the new MAA Project NExT (New Experiences in Teaching) Director. 
  • Jim Lewis received a Friend of Science Award from the Nebraska Academy of Sciences.
  • Faculty member Eloísa Grifo has received a grant from the National Science Foundation to advance her work in commutative algebra. Grifo, assistant professor of mathematics, is the first woman from the Nebraska U mathematics department — and the second Husker mathematician overall — to receive funding from NSF’s Faculty Early Career Development Program. With the five-year, $425,000 CAREER grant, Grifo will expand on her work in commutative algebra, particularly as it relates to applications of p-derivations, symbolic powers and cohomological support varieties.
  • STEM CONNECT, an NSF scholarship program to assist more low-income students into STEM careers, was featured as a student success story by Inside Higher Ed, the national higher education online news source. The grant benefits students attending UNL, Southeast Community College and Western Nebraska Community College by providing scholarships, community support, education and mentorship.
  • Layla Montemayor was selected for the SIAM-Simons undergraduate summer research program!
  • Meet Dakota Andrews, a mathematics major who loves the problem solving journey of mathematics and plans to attend graduate school!
  • Meet Erica Steiner, a mathematics and biological sciences major who plans to become a doctor!
  • Meet Nate Nordby, psychology major and mathematics minor!

Departmental News Archives

Social Media